Aarthi Back to Home Aarthi
 Hinduism Previous - Sai Religion Back to Home Sarva Dharma - 5 Human Values

Introduction Hinduism Jainism Buddhism
Zoroastrianism Sikhism Semitic Conclusion

Introduction    Scriptures
Law of Karma     Hindu Rituals    Hindu Sadhanas    Summary

OmHinduism is the oldest among all the religions. Jainism and Buddhism are said to have their belongings in Hinduism, and so are called ‘daughter religions’ of ‘Hinduism’. The more appropriate name of Hinduism is Sanaatana Dharma. ‘Dharma’ means that which upholds or keeps together the creation sustains and protects it.

‘Sanaatana’ means eternal or everlasting. Hinduism is called Sanaatana Dharma as it teaches us ideals and values which are of eternal validity or which will last forever.

This religion has its roots in the Vedas, which are scriptures of highest wisdom. So, it is also called as Vedaanta or Vaidika Dharma. This Vedanta or Vaidika Dharma lays down ways in which man has to conduct himself during his life’s journey.

The word ‘Hindu’ ‘Indu’ was first used to describe people who lived near the banks of river Indus. Baba, of course, gives it His divine touch and explains it as ‘Hin’ means ‘himsaa’ and ‘du’ means ‘dur’ (keeping away from or avoiding). Thus ‘Hindu’ means people who do not hurt anyone (man or animal) by thought, word or deed. Ahimsaa Paramo Dharmah. We must love and have regard for each and every creation because God envelops everything. ‘Ishaa Vaasyam Idam Sarvam’ is the basic principle of Hinduism.

Baba says ‘Bhaa’ means God and ‘Rati’ means love and attachment. So Bhaarata means ‘Bhagwadrati’ land of people who are intensely god loving. Love of all beings and love for God is the main teaching of Hinduism. So the meanings of the words ‘Bhaarata’ and Hindu sum up the whole essence of Hinduism. Hinduism being the most ancient and primeval religion laying down the universal path of Dharma,It can indeed justly be called as the 'Mother of all Basic tenets of Hinduism' or Main teachings of the Hindu religion: -

1. Natural forces are all but an expression of Divine: -
It is believed that natural forces like sun, earth, fire, wind etc. which give, nourish as well as destroy life on earth are all expressions of God. Though different deities are worshipped, it was believed God is one. Ekam Sat Vipraa Bahudhaa Vadanti.

2. One’s inner self is also an expression and aspect of the Divine:-
Just as the external forces of Nature is an expression of God, similarly God is present in each one of us in the form of the individual soul or Aatman. The human souls are like sparks from fire of the one and only one Reality. So the Aaryans declared ‘Tat Twam Asi’ - Thou art that. The Goal of Man’s life, therefore, is to liberate himself and merge with God by renouncing material desires. Once the soul gets liberated, it will be free from the cycle of birth and death.

3. God can be worshipped in any form that one chooses
- infinite are his forms and names. One can worship God in any form as per his liking i.e. his ‘Ishtadevataa’.

4. Unity of all existence and life: -
God is present in every being, whether big or small. Therefore, everything deserves our love and veneration. ‘Ishaa Vaasyam Idam Sarvam’ is the main idea of Hinduism.
Back to Top