Aarthi Back to Home Aarthi
 Sikhism Previous - Sai Religion Back to Home Sarva Dharma - 5 Human Values

Introduction Hinduism Jainism Buddhism
Zoroastrianism Sikhism Semitic Conclusion

Sikhism is the youngest religion in the world. It is a religion that has tried to bring about a harmony and synthesis among all the religions of the world, but especially between the two religions of Hinduism and Islam.

Guru Nanak, the founder of this religion was born in 1469.

During the time the Hindus held many superstitious beliefs and the Muslims were fanatics and had orthodox views.

There were constant fights in the name of religion.

Guru Nanak took upon himself the task of introducing a new religion that would have the good points of both the above religions so that Hindus and Muslims would live together in peace and good will.

The ten Sikh Gurus are –

  1. Guru Nanak
  2. Guru Angada
  3. Guru Amara Daasa
  4. Guru Raama Daasa
  5. Guru Arjuna
  6. Guru Hara Govinda
  7. Guru Hara Rai
  8. Guru Hara Kishana
  9. Guru Tega Bahaadoora
  10. Guru Govind Singh

Although peace and good will were the watch words of this new religion yet in the years that followed its followers were forced to become militant and take up arms, under the leadership of Guru Govind Singh when they were persecuted by the Muslim Rulers. Since they fought bravely against these Muslim rulers, the title ‘Singh’ (Lion) was attached to their names.

The holy book of the Sikhs is called the Granth Sahib. Sikhs do not believe in idol worship. They only sing the hymns and sayings of great saints. The most important feature of this religion is dedicated and devoted disciple-ship.

The Sikhs worship God in the form of a Jyoti. They give importance to Japa or Jyoti meditation. They believe that God is one. He is the ‘Sat Purusha’ - the absolute perfect being and the creator and sustainer of the universe.

The Sikhs are distinguished by the following five requirements prescribed by the Gurus. These are called the five ks –

  1. Keeping the hair uncut (Kesh)
  2. Keeping a steel comb always (Kangwa)
  3. Wearing a steel bangle (Kade)
  4. Keeping a short sword (Kripaana)
  5. Always wearing an underwear (Kacha)

The code of conduct for the Sikhs is almost the same as that of the Hindus, but the Sikhs do not believe in caste distinctions.



Back to Top